top of page

County coroner

The Coroner's office responds to calls twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week to investigate and determine Cause and Manner of Death. This investigation is independent of the sheriff, police, and fire departments, but is done in conjunction with the other entities.

These investigation happen when any person dies under the following circumstances:

  • As result of violence

  • By suicide or casualty

  • Suddenly when in apparent good health

  • When unattended by a physician

  • Any suspicious manner

  • Any children from birth to 16 years of age.

  • Death of inmates that die within 24 hours of been admitted to a hospital

  • Any foul play or accidental death

  • Take charge of the body

  • Pronouncement of death on any of the above circumstances

  • Signing of Death Certificates,on manner and cause of death

Coming Soon.png
James Jackson
County Coroner

Contact Information

Phone:

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 131
Lexington, GA 30648

​A post-mortem examination (autopsy) is ordered by this office only when it is vital in the determination of Cause and Manner of Death. When ordered by this office, a charge for the autopsy is never incurred by the family. The Coroner's Office does not bring revenue into the County, but by signing Death Cerificates, millions of dollars a year is sent to the people on Death Insurance Claims.

On completion of our Coroner’s investigation and post-mortem examination, the Coroner or his Deputy, upon delivery of a death certificate initiated by the Funeral Home, will complete said death certificate and return the certificate to the Funeral Director who is then responsible for having it certified. The death certificate is then made available to the family following the funeral or services. After that initial period, copies may be purchased from the Oglethorpe County Probate Court by calling 706-743-5350 . The Probate Court is located in the Oglethorpe County Courthouse at 109 E. Boggs Street, Lexington, GA 30648. The Georgia Department of Public Health also can provide death certificates. Click here for more information. 

If any personal items of the deceased are retained by the Coroner’s Office, you must possess and present a current photo identification card and proof that you are the next of kin or executor of the will to pick up such items. Any prescription medications collected during our investigation will be destroyed following the investigation and not returned to the family.

  • Burning
    In the case of an emergency, dial 9-1-1. For questions or reports related to brush burning and controlled fires, please call the Georgia Forestry Commission Agent for Oglethorpe County, at 706-743-5703.Or apply for a permit online. O.C.G.A. § 12-6-80 through 93
  • Trash/Dumping
    To report violations which relate to trash or dumping, please contact the Oglethorpe County BOC at 706-743-5270 or to the Georgia EPD. This includes reports relating to litter, scrap tires, accumulation of household garbage, and illegal landfills. O.C.G.A. § 12-8-1 through 41
  • Dogs/Wild Animals
    In the case of an emergency, dial 9-1-1 For questions or reports related to the spread of rabies and other infectious diseases, please call the Oglethorpe County Health Department at 706-743-8181. O.C.G.A. § 31-19-1 through 10 For reports related to dangerous dogs, please call 9-1-1. According to Georgia’s Responsible Dog Ownership Law, "Dangerous dog" means any dog that: 1. Causes a substantial puncture of a person's skin by teeth without causing serious injury; a. provided, however, that a nip, scratch, or abrasion shall not be sufficient to classify a dog as dangerous under this subparagraph; 2. Aggressively attacks in a manner that causes a person to reasonably believe that the dog posed an imminent threat of serious injury to such person or another person although no such injury occurs; a. provided, however, that the acts of barking, growling, or showing of teeth by a dog shall not be sufficient to classify a dog as dangerous under this subparagraph; or 3. While off the owner's property, kills a pet animal; a. provided, however, that this subparagraph shall not apply where the death of such pet animal is caused by a dog that is working or training as a hunting dog, herding dog, or predator control dog. "Vicious dog" means a dog that inflicts serious injury on a person or causes serious injury to a person resulting from reasonable attempts to escape from the dog's attack. "Serious injury" means any physical injury that: 1. creates a substantial risk of death; 2. results in death, broken or dislocated bones, lacerations requiring multiple sutures, or disfiguring avulsions; 3. requires plastic surgery or admission to a hospital; or 4. results in protracted impairment of health, including transmission of an infection or contagious disease, or impairment of the function of any bodily organ. O.C.G.A. § 4-8-20 through 33
  • Stormwater Management
    To apply for a land disturbing activity (LDA) permit or a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit, please call Georgia EPD Northeast District (Athens) at 706-369-6376. O.C.G.A. § 12-7-1 through 22
  • What happens I report my violation?
    Problems are addressed in a confidential, friendly and understanding way. Upon receiving a report, a code enforcement officer will evaluate the situation, possibly take pictures, and determine whether a violation has occurred. If a violation exists, the officer will notify the property owner to explain the problem and suggest possible solutions. The property owner is then given reasonable time to take care of the violation. Then, a follow up inspection is performed to verify that the violation has been corrected. While most property owners comply after the first notification, those who don't may face enforcement action via the issuance of a citation and the case is sent to the Magistrate Court of Oglethorpe County. The Magistrate Court will hear testimony from the property owner and the Code Enforcement Officer and the Judge will rule on the case.
bottom of page