Public Hearing and Work Session of the Oglethorpe County Board of Commissioners were held on Tuesday, July 6, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. at the Oglethorpe County Courthouse, Lexington, Georgia.

Members Present: Chairman Jay Paul Commissioner Andy Saxon

Commissioner Will Brown
Commissioner Phil Sanders
Commissioner David Clark
Commissioner Tracy Norman

Members Absent:

<u>Minutes</u>: Commissioner Clark made a motion to approve the June 7, 2021 Minutes. Seconded by Commissioner Sanders and unanimously approved by the Board.

<u>Rezone</u>: Commissioner Sanders made a motion to approve the rezone request submitted by Janice Nix Spray to rezone at 59 Onnie Colquitt Road, also known as Tax Parcel 072 024, from AR (Rural Residential) to R1 (Single Family Residential) in order to subdivide. Seconded by Commissioner Clark and unanimously approved by the Board.

<u>Rezone</u>: Commissioner Clark made a motion to approve the rezone request submitted by Oglethorpe County to a rezone of a portion of 0 Wirebridge Cutoff, also known as a portion of Tax Parcel 060 025, from AR (Rural Residential) to A2 (General Agriculture). This property was combined with some property that is zoned A2, so this would clean up a split zoning case. Seconded by Commissioner Sanders and unanimously approved by the Board.

<u>Rezone</u>: Commissioner Clark made a motion to approve the rezone request submitted by Oglethorpe County to rezone of a portion of 194 Lanier Lane, also known as a portion of Tax Parcel 071 027, from A2 (General Agriculture) to AR (Rural Residential). This property was combined with some property that is zoned AR, so this would clean up a split zoning case. Seconded by Commissioner Saxon and unanimously approved by the Board.

<u>Rezone</u>: Commissioner Clark made a motion to approve the rezone request submitted by Oglethorpe County to rezone 21 Azalea Lane, also known as Tax Parcel 031 017, from AR (Rural Residential) to A2 (General Agriculture). This property was combined with some property that is zoned A2, so this would clean up a split zoning case. Seconded by Commissioner Sanders and unanimously approved by the Board.

Rezone: Commissioner Clark made a motion to approve the rezone request submitted by Oglethorpe County to rezone a portion of 0 Washington Road, also known as a portion of Tax Parcel 135 001, from A2 (General Agriculture) to PG (Public/Government). This property was sold to a governmental agency (Salem Volunteer Fire Department). Seconded by Commissioner Sanders and unanimously approved by the Board.

<u>Rezone</u>: Commissioner Clark made a motion to approve the rezone request submitted by Oglethorpe County to rezone a portion of 0 Welcome Avenue, also known as a portion of Tax Parcel 049 009, from A2 (General Agriculture) to AR (Rural Residential). This property was combined with some property that is zoned AR, so this would clean up a split zoning case. Seconded by Commissioner Sanders and unanimously approved by the Board.

Road Abandonment and Renaming: Commissioner Saxon made a motion to approve the William Pope realignment plan which includes accepting approximately 0.14 miles of the new section of William Pope Road, abandon approximately 0.24 miles of the former William Pope Road and renaming approximately 200ft of the remaining section of the former William Pope Road to Brooks Lane, which will remain in the public road network. Seconded by

Commissioner Sanders with Commissioners Norman and Saxon voting to approve with Commissioner Brown abstaining.

<u>Board Appointment</u>: Commissioner Norman voted to approve the re-appointment of William Decker to the Department of Family and Children Services Board. Seconded by Commissioner Brown and unanimously approved by the Board.

<u>Board Appointment</u>: Commissioner Clark made a motion to appoint Debbie Furbish to the Board of Health. Seconded by Commissioner Saxon and unanimously approved by the Board.

There being no further business at 6:39 p.m., the meeting was adjourned until the next regularly scheduled meeting on August 2, 2021 unless sooner convened because of an emergency.	
Jay Paul, Chairman	Andy Saxon, Commissioner
David Clark, Commissioner	Will Brown, Commissioner
Phil Sanders, Commissioner	Tracy Norman, Commissioner
County Clerk	